“One thousand pesos for a tube of paint. Is that too much?”

“It’s just a very light red,” he said to my ear as I strolled through the bookstore in between shelves of paper and cabinets of paint.

“No, no.” My eyebrows furrowed. “I think it’s red plus violet and white- or something else.” I complained over the phone.

We had both forgotten our conversation about the color pink. Years back when he was still in college and watched several Minute Physics video a day, he had mentioned how pink was but the color of radiation. The day I decided to buy pink paint, he was clearly just telling me to be cautious of how I spend my money.

At the back of my head as I put down my phone, I thought about why I don’t just mix the colors. But how do you really get a consistent pink paint without it beeing too dark or too red or too violet? I wanted a premixed convenient tube of paint!

Apparently this dilemma over the color pink is not just a petty afternoon affair. In fact, several blogs have been written and studies have been made discussing the legitimacy of the color pink. Perception of colors, optics, light, wavelengths… etc. etc.  It might be too technical for someone just wanting a conveniently premixed – and hopefully affordable – tube of paint. So I’m glad that I didn’t have to ponder long on how to get the right mix of red and violet when I got one for only P140.   

 
Though it made me wonder where pink paint pigment cones from. These tubes should have ingredient labels!   

  
Practice images just as confusing as the color they’re painted in!

