1. “Travel is never a matter of money but of courage.”

aleph1 aleph9

2. “They say that in the second before our death, each of us understands the real reason for our existence, and out of that moment, Heaven or Hell is born.”

aleph6 aleph5

3. “A life without a cause is a life without effect.”

aleph3

4. “You see this park? There are all kinds of stories here, and even though they’ve been told many times, they still deserve to be told again. The writer, the singer, the gardener, the translator, we are all a mirror of our time. We all pour our love into our work. In my case, obviously, reading is very important, but anyone who puts his faith in academic tomes and creative writing courses is missing the point: words are life set down on paper. So seek out the company of others.”

aleph2 aleph4

5. “We are not the person other people wish we were. We are who we decide to be. It’s always easy to blame others. You can spend your entire life blaming others. You can spend your entire life blaming the world, but your successes or failures are entirely your own responsibility. You can try to stop time, but it’s a complete waste of energy.”

aleph11

6. “Once the pain threshold has been crossed, the spirit grows strong. Everyday desires become meaningless, and man is purified. Suffering comes from desire, not from pain.”

aleph7

7. “Only someone who can say ‘I love you’ is capable of saying ‘I forgive you.’ ”

aleph8

8. “Only two things can reveal life’s great secrets: suffering and love.”

aleph10

 

Words from The Aleph by Paulo Coelho. Pictures from my personal archive, mostly taken by me, others by my koibito. Pictures taken in my room, others in Quezon City, Baguio City, and Laguna. Pictures very familiar to me, others captured in memory by my Canon 1000D. Pictures of people and things still with me, others with me only in memory.

 

