Got an unexpectedly huge salary from my part time job, so I decided to buy some art materials. I finally got a liquid masking fluid from Deovir Megmall branch (because I’ve learned my lesson on how not to skimp on art materials) and Faber Castle Watercolor pencils from National Bookstore (because I am Laking National) yesterday. Since it is quite late, I decided to try the pencils first.

What best way to see if these pencils are watercolor worthy than paint Sandman’s Delirium. With her pool-of-color hair, these pencils are really going to be challenged.

delirium

Reference photo of Delirium, Little Endless Storybook version. Art by Jill Thomspon.

Control in drawing Delirium is quite ironic. Still, I know I haven’t gone to her realm with this sketch. My pursuit in painting my version of the perfect Delirium is still not there, still on its way.

IMG_5571

IMG_5572

IMG_5573

 

 

 

 

 

 

I brushed clear water over the sketch and, yes, the paint still mingles* with the other colors. My biggest problem with it, though, is that much of the colored pigment is lost when you brush water over it. I suppose it has a similar effect with tube watercolor paint: much water, less dense paint. It could be a good and intentional effect on well-planned paintings. However, in my case, I did not expect what happened. You have to brush over everything because, if not, there will be obvious difference between the wet and dry areas.

IMG_5574 IMG_5575

So, there you go. My practice piece for this week: painting with watercolor pencils.

*For examples of paintings with mingling technique, see paintings in Is it the Endo? and Engkantology posts.

Note: I have a big project in mind. I might get some sorts of big-arse watercolor canvas 🙂

