“If you are not taking risks, then what the hell are you doing?” my friend quotes from How I Met Your Mother.

To take risks does not (only) mean to do something rash. To take risks means to stir the wheel of someone else’s car – even though you don’t know how to drive – to a destination that is not on the itinerary. To get out of one’s comfort zone. Recently, I took a risk by quitting my first ever job without a pending career offer. Well, I am currently jobless. Taking risks does not always bring immediate good results or immediate bad results. It entails what you want to do next.

In the same vein, this wordpress page is also a risk for me since I have never publicly posted essays or paintings like this:

 

 

 Image

 

 

Last April 10-12, I attended a watercolor workshop at Ayala Museum facilitated by Ms. Eileen Escueta. One of the paintings I submitted for the Art Room exhibit was put on display last May 1-5.

Image

Even after the course ended, I continued painting. It became apparent that I created landscapes better than portraits.

Image

In fact, the lady who sold tikoy rolls in my old office asked for one of my paintings. (I brought paintings to work to bring color to the gray cubicle I spent hours in.) Before I left, she said that she had framed my painting and that I should continue to be nice to people.

Image

After weeks of not having touched my brush, I decided to paint again. I wanted to paint someone who inspires me.

Motoo Fujiwara is the vocalist, guitarist and lyricist of the Japanese band BUMP OF CHICKEN. I came to know the band a few years back when I was taking piano lessons at RJ Robinson’s Galleria. Before and after my class, I always went to Tom’s World, an arcade station in the same building, and played Drum Mania/Percussion Freaks. A song stood out because of the kanji characters written on its cover. (I have Nihongo units in my diploma.) However, I couldn’t read it. (Well, Japanese is a hard language to learn!) So, I just played it because it was catchy. One fateful day, I decided to search for Drum Mania songs in preparation for an advanced level in the game because, you know, taking risks. I found BUMP OF CHICKEN’s Tentai Kansoku (天体観測), which carried the two Kanji characters I remembered from Drum Mania. I also clicked the video because the thumbnail was an avatar of an interesting looking guy.

Image

And since then, I loved BUMP OF CHICKEN, especially Fujiwara. I decided to paint him without much inhibition to color layering.

Image

 

Image

In the end, I couldn’t capture him the way I wanted to. Nonetheless, I regard it as one of my best so far. More risks to take and better pictures to paint in the future!

 

 

I took risk and now I am jobless, what do I want to do in this interim? Be inspired again. This blog is where I want to practice my writing, share my paintings, and talk about things interesting. (Yeah, just wanted to make the sounds parallel.)

